Digital
Learning Worlds

Annual Report
2020 - 2021

ONLINE LEARNING →→→ Whether it’s for private interests, professional qualifications, or mandatory learning within companies, the trend toward online learning has continued gathering speed as a result of the coronavirus pandemic. DEKRA will not be left behind – we are among those driving the changes.

TRAINING

ONLINE

SAFETY WEB

“We were already making more and more courses available as online learning before the coronavirus pandemic started,” says Colin Steadman, Head of Strategic Development in the Training Service Division. “But since the first lockdown in 2020, we have upped the speed.” Whether it’s for use by private individuals, businesses, or financed by the public sector, online learning will be part of the future – a future that DEKRA is helping to shape through the variety of offers and services that it provides for customers. For example, these include safety-related training and training in industrial/technical skills.

Online Occupational Safety

With the DEKRA Safety Web, DEKRA offers an online training portal for occupational safety, health, and compliance. It has been growing continually since it was created in 2015. In 2020, the year of the coronavirus, for example, use increased by 75%. A total of 140,000 employees from approximately 1,000 companies from sectors including automotive, transport and logistics, and services have now registered. These include small and medium-sized enterprises, but also larger corporations such as Beiersdorf, ARI Fleet, and Air Plus.

“Up-to-date content and a wide variety of subjects are the trademarks of our approximately 40 online training courses,” says Wolfgang Reichelt, Managing Director of DEKRA Medien GmbH. “We responded to the coronavirus crisis by creating a lot of new courses.” Examples of these include hygiene rules for businesses in the logistics and retail sectors, and courses on the safe transportation of COVID tests.

The DEKRA Safety Web provides twin benefits: Firstly, it makes the employees more aware of safety issues. Secondly, it gives companies a way of fulfilling their training obligations and documenting the process. The DEKRA Safety Web was developed in-house by DEKRA and its success is evident. This is due not only to the quality of its content, but also to the intuitive navigation and modern design, which make the site very user-friendly.

“We make it easier to get started with online training by making it easy to import user data, and by providing video tutorials,” says Wolfgang Reichelt. After six years of the DEKRA Safety Web, he sums up as follows: “When created using professional media technology, occupational safety can be digital, too – ensuring compliance with legal requirements and high quality standards.” His team at DEKRA Media will therefore keep expanding its offer and will expand into more sectors in 2021 and beyond. All of this means that DEKRA Safety Web’s success story is set to continue.

DEKRA Safety Web –
Instructing has never been so easy!

DEKRA Safety Web makes it easy to instruct online – on the subject of “occupational health and safety” and for compliance requirements!

More to DEKRA Safety Web

 

CLICK HERE FOR SERVICE DIVISION TRAINING

learn more

OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY

»When created using professional media technology, occupational safety can be digital, too – ensuring compliance with legal requirements and high quality standards.«
Wolfgang Reichelt
[Managing Director, DEKRA Medien GmbH]

Hello HiVo!

DEKRA is at the beginning of a new success story in the emerging e-mobility market. “HiVo, the digital High-Voltage Vehicles Training program, is our global response to the increased use of electric and hybrid vehicles around the world,” says Dr. Lisa Marie Ley, Head of Technical Service Management in the Training Service Division. “We are already in discussions with major customers who operate in more than a dozen countries.” The new offer is coming at just the right time, as work with and on high-voltage vehicles, such as in sales, towing services and workshops, requires specialist knowledge to avoid risks and accidents. However, increasing workloads are allowing less time for training. Time spent on training in seminars means production downtime and additional outlay in both time and money, e.g. for travel.

Therefore, the High-Voltage Vehicles Training program was developed according to the principle “digital first.” As part of a web app, HiVo the robot guides learners through the e-Learning program in a first step. All content that can be learned through online self-study is completed as “remote learning.” Only the training items that require participants and trainers to be present in person take place on site in a second step (e.g. practicing the disconnection process on an electric car).

The participants learn using “learning nuggets”, which are short units (3-20 minutes) on a specific/concrete subject. This approach enables “micro-learning” which can be optimally integrated into working processes and avoids the need for downtimes lasting the whole day – allowing for the perfect balance between training and profitability. To build on the e-Learning, this is followed by practical in-person training depending on the profile of the target group. Both of these form the basis of the third step, continuous learning in the workplace, which takes place using the web app again.

In terms of content, the High-Voltage Vehicles Training program covers all aspects of e-mobility – from correct vehicle operation, to repair and maintenance, to towing and rescue. Subject areas such as electrical engineering and health and safety when working with high-voltage vehicles are also included. In addition, the program covers both electric vehicles and hybrid and hydrogen vehicles. This mostly takes place in interactive practice sessions using freely movable 3D models.

The digital High-Voltage Vehicles Training program from DEKRA is our global response to the increased use of electric and hybrid vehicles around the world.

The High-Voltage Vehicles Training program is aimed at car dealers, their dealership networks and workshops, as well as insurance companies, some of which have their own networks of towing services. “Based on the requirements and target group, we put the modules and nuggets together individually for our customers and target groups – ensuring that they are also aligned both to local demands and to the legal or regulatory guidelines of our markets all over the world,” says Dr. Lisa Marie Ley.

Customers particularly appreciate the training program’s modern approach, with its interactive elements, variety of methods and learning formats, and its global applicability. It was for this reason that an insurance company with a worldwide network of towing services decided to sign up to the high-voltage training program. The high-voltage training helps them to set a uniform standard while making local adjustments, and shape the work on high-voltage vehicles (which are selling in increasing numbers) to ensure that it is carried out safely – precisely because until now, only a few countries have even defined the qualification requirements necessary to work safely in this area.

HiVo at a Glance

  • High-level digital training via a web app
  • “Learning nuggets” based on 3D applications, videos, and interactive learning sequences
  • Additional in-person training with practical tasks
  • Can be flexibly adjusted to the needs of the customer or participants
  • Participants determine their own learning as far as the sequence, time, and speed are concerned
  • Digital learning continues in the workplace for a year after the initial training course

HIGH-VOLTAGE VEHICLES TRAINING

»The digital High-Voltage Vehicles Training program from DEKRA is our global response to the increased use of electric and hybrid vehicles around the world.«
Dr. Lisa Marie Ley
[Head of Technical Service Management, Training Service Division.]

A Strong Performance

Next Insight

Next Insight

Digitale Lernwelten

Geschäftsbericht
2020 - 2021

DIE DIGITALISIERUNG DES LERNENS →→→ Ob private Interessen, berufliche Qualifizierung oder behördlich vorgeschriebene Unterweisungen in Unternehmen – die Digitalisierung des Lernens ist durch die Corona-Pandemie nochmals beschleunigt worden. Und DEKRA ist mittendrin statt nur dabei.

TRAINING

ONLINE

SAFETY WEB

„Nicht erst seit Corona verlegen wir immer mehr Angebote in den virtuellen Klassenraum“, sagt Colin Steadman, Head of Strategic Development der Service Division Training. „Aber seit dem ersten Lockdown 2020 haben wir das Tempo intensiviert.“ Ob für Privatpersonen, Firmen oder öffentlich finanziertes Geschäft, digitales Lernen ist das Thema der Zukunft, welches DEKRA mit seinen unterschiedlichen Angeboten und Dienstleistungen für Kunden gestaltet. Dazu zählen z. B. sicherheitstechnische Unterweisungen und gewerblich-technische Trainings.

Arbeitssicherheit digital

Mit dem DEKRA Safety Web bietet DEKRA ein Online-Unterweisungsportal für Arbeitssicherheit, Gesundheit und Compliance, das seit der Gründung im Jahr 2015 kontinuierlich wächst – im Corona-Jahr 2020 beispielsweise um 75 Prozent. Mittlerweile sind insgesamt 140.000 Mitarbeitende von rund 1.000 Unternehmen aus Branchen wie Automobil, Transport & Logistik und Dienstleistungen registriert. Darunter sind kleine und mittelständische Firmen, aber auch Konzerne wie Beiersdorf, ARI Fleet und Air Plus.

„Aktualität und Themenvielfalt sind das Markenzeichen unserer rund 40 Online-Unterweisungen“, sagt Wolfgang Reichelt, Geschäftsführer DEKRA Medien GmbH. „Auf Corona haben wir mit zahlreichen neuen Angeboten reagiert.“ Dazu zählen beispielsweise Hygieneregeln für die Logistikbranche und den Einzelhandel oder Unterweisungen zum sicheren Transport von COVID-Proben.

 

Mit dem DEKRA Safety Web ist ein doppelter Nutzen verbunden: Zum einen werden die Beschäftigten für Sicherheitsthemen sensibilisiert. Zum anderen erfüllen Unternehmen ihre Unterweisungspflicht und können das auch dokumentieren. Der Erfolg des DEKRA Safety Web, eine Eigenentwicklung von DEKRA, ist offenkundig: Neben der inhaltlichen Qualität ist er auch der Benutzerfreundlichkeit durch intuitive Navigation und modernes Design geschuldet.

„Den Start in die Welt der Online-Unterweisung erleichtern wir durch den einfachen Import von Nutzerdaten und durch Videotutorials“, so Wolfgang Reichelt. Sein Fazit nach sechs Jahren DEKRA Safety Web: „Medientechnisch professionell aufbereitet geht Arbeitssicherheit auch digital – rechtssicher und in hoher Qualität.“ Sein Team bei DEKRA Media wird deshalb das Angebot weiter ausbauen und 2021 und darüber hinaus weitere Branchen erschließen. Die Erfolgsstory DEKRA Safety Web dürfte also weitergehen.

DEKRA Safety Web –
Unterweisen war noch nie so einfach!

Online-Unterweisungen für Gesundheits-, Arbeitsschutz und Compliance-Themen – mit uns erfüllen Sie Ihre jährliche Unterweisungsplicht flexibel online!

Mehr zum DEKRA Safety Web

HIER GEHT ES ZUR SERVICE DIVISION TRAINING

mehr erfahren

ARBEITSSICHERHEIT

»Medientechnisch professionell aufbereitet geht Arbeitssicherheit auch digital – rechtssicher und in hoher Qualität.«
Wolfgang Reichelt
[Geschäftsführer DEKRA Medien GmbH]

Hello HiVo!

DEKRA beginnt gerade, eine neue Erfolgsstory im Zukunftsmarkt der Elektromobilität zu schreiben. „HiVo, das digitale High-Voltage Vehicles Training, ist unsere globale Antwort auf den weltweit zunehmenden Einsatz von Elektro- und Hybridfahrzeugen“, sagt Dr. Lisa Marie Ley, Head of Technical Service Management in der Service Division Training. „Wir sind bereits in Gesprächen mit Großkunden, die in mehr als einem Dutzend Ländern tätig sind.“ Das neue Angebot kommt zur rechten Zeit. Denn die Arbeit mit und an Hochvoltfahrzeugen, zum Beispiel im Verkauf, bei Abschleppdiensten und in Kfz-Werkstätten, erfordert spezielle Kenntnisse, um Risiken und Unfälle zu vermeiden. Gleichzeitig führt die zunehmende Arbeitsverdichtung zu weniger Zeit für Training. Einen Tag im Seminarraum zu lernen, führt zu Produktionsausfällen und verursacht zusätzlich zeitliche und finanzielle Aufwände, z. B. für die Anfahrt.

Daher wurde das High-Voltage Vehicle Training unter dem Leitgedanken „digital first“ entwickelt. In einer Web-App führt der Roboter HiVo die Lernenden in einem ersten Schritt durch das e-Learning-Programm. Alle Inhalte, die im digitalen Selbststudium gelernt werden können, finden als „Remote Learning“ statt. Dagegen werden vor Ort in einem zweiten Schritt nur die Lernelemente trainiert, die eine physische Anwesenheit von Teilnehmer und Trainer erfordern (z. B. das Üben des Freischaltvorgangs am Elektroauto).

Der Lernfortschritt wird über „Lernnuggets“ erzielt, kurze Einheiten (3–20 Minuten) zu einem spezifischen/konkreten Thema. Dadurch wird sogenanntes Mikrolernen möglich, das optimal in Arbeitsprozesse integrierbar ist und zu keinen tagelangen Ausfallzeiten führt – eine optimale Balance zwischen pädagogischen und ökonomischen Vorteilen. Aufbauend auf dem e-Learning folgt – je nach Profil der Zielgruppe – ein praktisches Präsenztraining. Beides schafft die Grundlage für den dritten Schritt, das kontinuierliche Lernen am Arbeitsplatz, das wiederum per Web-App erfolgt.

Inhaltlich deckt das High-Voltage Vehicle Training alle Aspekte der E-Mobilität ab – vom korrekten Betrieb des Fahrzeugs über Reparatur und Wartung bis zum Abschleppen und Bergen. Hinzu kommen Themenfelder wie Elektrotechnik sowie Gesundheits- und Sicherheitsfragen beim Umgang mit Hochvoltfahrzeugen. Daneben werden sowohl Elektrofahrzeuge als auch Hybrid- und Wasserstofffahrzeuge abgebildet. Dies geschieht unter anderem in interaktiven Lernübungen an frei bewegbaren 3D-Modellen.

Das digitale High-Voltage Vehicles Training von DEKRA ist unsere globale Antwort auf den weltweit zunehmenden Einsatz von Elektro- und Hybridfahrzeugen.

Das High-Voltage Vehicle Training richtet sich sowohl an Autohändler, ihre Händlernetze und Werkstätten als auch an Versicherungen, die teilweise über eigene Netzwerke an Abschleppdiensten verfügen. „Je nach Bedarf und Zielgruppe stellen wir die Module und Nuggets individuell für unsere Kunden und Zielgruppen zusammen – auch ausgerichtet an lokalen Anforderungen und gesetzlichen oder regulativen Vorgaben unserer Märkte in aller Welt“, sagt Dr. Lisa Marie Ley.

Kunden schätzen vor allem den modernen Ansatz des Trainings mit seinen interaktiven Elementen, Abwechslung in den Methoden und Lernformaten sowie der globalen Einsatzmöglichkeit. Aus diesem Grund hat sich auch eine Versicherung mit einem weltweiten Netz an Abschleppunternehmen für das Hochvolttraining entschieden. Mit dem Hochvolttraining kann die Versicherung mit ihren Abschleppunternehmen einen einheitlichen Standard setzen, trotzdem lokale Anpassungen vornehmen und die Arbeit an Hochvoltfahrzeugen bei steigenden Verkaufszahlen sicher gestalten – gerade weil bisher nur die wenigsten Länder überhaupt erforderliche Qualifikationsanforderungen für solch ein sicheres Arbeiten definiert haben.

HiVo im Überblick

  • Hochgradig digitalisiertes Training über eine Web-App
  • „Lernnuggets“ auf Basis von 3D-Anwendungen, Videos und interaktiven Lernsequenzen
  • Ergänzendes Präsenztraining mit praktischen Übungen
  • Flexibel anpassbar an den Bedarf des Kunden bzw. der Schulungsteilnehmer
  • Selbstbestimmtes Lernen hinsichtlich Reihenfolge, Zeit und Geschwindigkeit
  • Digitales Lernen am Arbeitsplatz nach dem initialen Training für ein Jahr

HIGH-VOLTAGE VEHICLES TRAINING

»Das digitale High-Voltage Vehicles Training von DEKRA ist unsere globale Antwort auf den weltweit zunehmenden Einsatz von Elektro- und Hybridfahrzeugen.«
Dr. Lisa Marie Ley
[Head of Technical Service Management, Service Division Training]

Starke Leistung

Nächster Insight

Nächster Insight