Annual Report
2020 - 2021

Testing Protective Masks →→→ As case numbers rose in the coronavirus pandemic, the demand for safe protective masks also rose sharply. As an expert in testing personal protective equipment (PPE), DEKRA responded very quickly and is now running what is the largest testing laboratory in Europe.

Product Testing

PROTECTIVE MASKS

COVID-19

In DEKRA’s specialized lab in Essen, the white masks stand out sharply against the black heads of the dummies. Listen closely, and you will hear a sound reminiscent of human breathing. The noise demonstrates the resistances when breathing in and out with the mask on. The resistances must not exceed defined limit values to ensure that physical work can be carried out while wearing a mask. Another important aspect of the mask testing process is checking whether the mask can be permeated by aerosols. For this purpose, DEKRA’s experts use both sodium chloride and paraffin oil as test media. For an FFP2 mask, the limit value is below six percent. By comparison, an FFP3 mask is permitted to let in less than one percent of aerosols.

MASK TESTING

 

As was the case until March 2020, since October 2020 it has once again only been permitted to market FFP2 and FFP3 masks that have undergone the EU conformity evaluation process in accordance with EU Regulation 2016/425 on PPE, thus meeting the requirements of EU standards EN149:2001 and A1:2009. They receive the CE mark with the testing institution’s four-digit number. DEKRA’s number is 0158. “Before the pandemic, we tested three or four mask brands in accordance with EN149 each year,” says Jörg-Timm Kilisch, Managing Director of DEKRA Testing & Certification. “Now it’s up to 30 each month.”

In DEKRA’s climate test cabinet in Essen, the temperature can reach up to 70 degrees Celsius. After more than 2 days, the experts remove the masks to assess their durability. The test on the running belt machine is just as realistic. It tests whether the mask remains correctly fitted during movements such as walking, nodding, and speaking. They then test how tightly it lies on the face, and whether it is also suitable for people who wear glasses or have beards. If the glasses fog up during the positioning test, the mask fails.

CLICK HERE FOR SERVICE DIVISION PRODUCT TESTING

learn more

We remain in regular communication with the German federal and state governments, for questions concerning the safety of masks, and on setting up a mask production facility in Germany.

Support from Governments

“Our expertise when it comes to testing masks is called upon for more than just testing and certifying individual models,” says Jörg-Timm Kilisch. “We also remain in regular communication with the German federal and state governments.” This is for questions concerning the safety of masks, as well as setting up a mask production facility in Germany. The German federal government is aiming to expand manufacturing in Germany further and thus become independent of deliveries from abroad.

Protection Classes of FFP Masks
FFP masks are available in the protection classes FFP1, FFP2, and FFP3, and are subject to a Europe-wide standard (EN149). FFP stands for “Filtering Face Piece.” While FFP1 masks protect against non-toxic dust, FFP2 masks are suited to protection against solid and fluid dusts, smoke, and aerosols that are harmful to health, as well as transmittable infectious agents such as SARS-CoV-2. FFP3 masks offer the highest degree of protection, as they filter out up to 99% of harmful substances and aerosols.

COMMUNICATION

»We remain in regular communication with the German federal and state governments, for questions concerning the safety of masks, and on setting up a mask production facility in Germany.«
Jörg-Timm Kilisch
[Managing Director, DEKRA Testing and Certification GmbH]

Always in the loop

Next Insight

Next Insight

Geschäftsbericht
2020 - 2021

Prüfung von Atemschutzmasken →→→ Mit den Fallzahlen der Corona-Pandemie stieg die Nachfrage nach sicheren Atemschutzmasken steil an. DEKRA hat als Experte für die Prüfung von Persönlicher Schutzausrüstung (PSA) sehr schnell reagiert und betreibt das größte Prüflabor in Europa.

Product Testing

Atemschutzmasken

COVID-19

Von den schwarzen Kopfattrappen im Essener Speziallabor von DEKRA heben sich die weißen Masken deutlich ab. Und wer genau hinhört, vernimmt ein Geräusch, das an menschliches Atmen erinnert. Das Geräusch bildet ab, wie die Widerstände beim Ein- und Ausatmen mit Maske sind. Sie dürfen definierte Grenzwerte nicht überschreiten, damit auch körperliche Arbeit mit Maske möglich ist. Ein weiterer wichtiger Punkt innerhalb der Maskenprüfung ist die Ermittlung der Durchlässigkeit für Aerosole. Dazu nutzen die DEKRA Experten sowohl das Prüfmedium Natriumchlorid als auch Paraffinöl. Bei einer FFP2-Maske liegt der Grenzwert bei unter sechs Prozent. Und eine FFP3-Maske darf weniger als ein Prozent Aerosole durchlassen.

MASKENPRÜFUNG
 

Wie auch bis März 2020 sind seit Oktober 2020 wieder nur noch FFP2- und FFP3-Masken verkehrsfähig, die das EU-Konformitätsbewertungsverfahren gemäß PSA-VO (EU 2016/425) durchlaufen haben und damit die Anforderungen der EU-Norm EN 149:2001+A1:2009 erfüllen. Sie erhalten das CE-Zeichen mit einer vierstelligen Nummer des Prüfinstituts – bei DEKRA lautet sie 0158. „Vor der Pandemie haben wir drei bis vier Maskenfabrikate pro Jahr nach EN 149 getestet“, berichtet Jörg-Timm Kilisch, Geschäftsführer DEKRA Testing & Certification, „jetzt sind es bis zu 30 im Monat.“

Im Klimaschrank bei DEKRA in Essen herrscht eine Temperatur von bis zu 70 Grad. Nach mehr als 2 Tagen entnehmen die Experten die Masken, um eine Aussage zur Haltbarkeit machen zu können. Ebenso realitätsnah ist der Test auf dem Laufband: Dort wird geprüft, ob die Maske auch bei Bewegungsabläufen wie Gehen, Kopfnicken oder Sprechen korrekt anliegt. Dann testen sie, wie dicht die Masken am Gesicht anliegen und ob sie auch für Brillen- und Bartträger geeignet sind. Beschlägt die Brille bei der Anlegeprüfung, ist die Maske durchgefallen.

HIER GEHT ES ZUR SERVICE DIVISION PRODUCT TESTING

mehr erfahren

Wir stehen im regelmäßigen Austausch mit der deutschen Bundesregierung und den Landesregierungen, etwa bei Fragen zur Sicherheit von Masken sowie zum Aufbau einer Maskenproduktion in Deutschland.

Unterstützung der Regierungen

„Unsere Expertise in der Maskenprüfung ist nicht nur rund um das Prüfen und Zertifizieren von einzelnen Modellen gefragt“, berichtet Jörg-Timm Kilisch „wir stehen zudem im regelmäßigen Austausch mit der Bundesregierung und den Landesregierungen.“ Dabei geht es um Fragen rund um die Sicherheit von Masken, aber auch um den Aufbau einer Maskenproduktion in Deutschland. Denn Ziel der Bundesregierung ist es, die Herstellung in Deutschland weiter auszubauen und sich so unabhängig von Lieferungen aus dem Ausland zu machen.

Schutzklassen der FFP-Masken

FFP-Masken sind in den Schutzklassen FFP1, FFP2 und FFP3 erhältlich und europaweit normiert (EN 149). FFP steht für „Filtering Face Piece“. Während FFP1-Masken vor ungiftigem Staub schützen, eignen sich FFP2-Masken zum Schutz vor festen und flüssigen gesundheitsschädlichen Stäuben, Rauch und Aerosolen sowie übertragbaren Infektionserregern wie SARS-CoV-2. Den größten Schutz bieten FFP3-Masken, die bis zu 99 % der Schadstoffe und Aerosole filtern.

AUSTAUSCH

»Wir stehen im regelmäßigen Austausch mit der deutschen Bundesregierung und den Landesregierungen, etwa bei Fragen zur Sicherheit von Masken sowie zum Aufbau einer Maskenproduktion in Deutschland.«
Jörg-Timm Kilisch
[Geschäftsführer DEKRA Testing und Certification GmbH]

Immer auf
dem Laufenden

Nächster Insight

Nächster Insight