Remote Audit for
E-Mobility Pioneer

Annual Report
2020 - 2021

REMOTE AUDIT →→→ As an international supplier of charging technology, innogy is an important player in the emerging e-mobility market. The company, a subsidiary of E.ON, is relying on quality and continuous improvement to keep expanding. This is why innogy is banking on DEKRA – and breaking new ground with a remote audit.

AUDIT

ELECTROMOBILITY

REMOTE

E-mobility has arrived – not just on the roads, but also in the minds of drivers. As a result, the market for charging stations and corresponding IT services is developing dynamically. innogy eMobility Solutions GmbH, which is active in Germany, Europe, and North America, is facing the challenge of always delivering absolute quality and responding quickly to new demands. “Quality management is very important to us,” says Jörg Schirmacher, Senior Quality & HSE Manager.

Once the business had been certified in accordance with the quality management standard DIN ISO 9001:2015 in December 2019, a routine monitoring audit was due a year later. As a result of the coronavirus pandemic and the related contact restrictions, it was not possible to carry out an audit in person.

Even during a pandemic, it is vital to guarantee the safety and quality of processes. Together, we were able to find a solution: remote audits. That is to say, the audits were conducted online from off-site. In addition to maintaining the required social distancing, this option offers other advantages, too. This kind of audit is also more sustainable, as it negates the need for travel, so the associated CO2 emissions can be avoided. Other advantages include making it possible to deploy the auditors’ expertise regardless of where they are, and carry out certain analysis more precisely and efficiently.

INSIGHTS

»The DEKRA auditors’ international experience is very important to us. It means that the remote audit doesn’t just confirm the status quo, it also provides insights that can help us to cater to our customers.«
Arjan van der Eijk
[CEO at innogy eMobility Solutions GmbH]

Once the steps legally required for accreditation had been taken, DEKRA quickly familiarized its customers with the possibilities and advantages of the digital solution and also ensured that the applicable data protection requirements are fulfilled.

An International Perspective

The success of the project is due to several factors. One of these is that all of innogy’s processes are mapped digitally in a QM system. Another is that the company has meticulously prepared each of the topics raised in the audit. This meant that the documents required and even individual innogy experts were available precisely when needed in the audit process. “During the remote audit we worked in a very focused way,” says Jörg Schirmacher. “It was hard work, but efficient. We didn’t need as much time or resources as we would have done for an in-person audit.”

CEO Arjan van der Eijk summarized the cooperation with DEKRA: “The DEKRA auditors’ international experience is very important to us. It means that the remote audit doesn’t just confirm the status quo, it also provides insights that can help us to cater to our customers.

EFFICIENT

»During the remote audit we worked in a very focused way. It was hard work, but efficient. We didn’t need as much time or resources as we would have done for an in-person audit.«
Jörg Schirmacher
[Senior Quality & HSE Manager, innogy eMobility Solutions GmbH]

Hybrid Future

In the auditing process, innogy regretted the lack of personal contact with an auditor. Frank Barenscheer, Sales Director Management Systems at DEKRA Certification GmbH, therefore believes that once the pandemic is over, a hybrid form will emerge: “In the future, we expect more of the audit and certification processes to take place online. However, there will be increased demand for ‘hybrid audits’ that combine virtual and on-site evaluations.”

innogy eMobility Solutions GmbH:

innogy produces charging equipment for direct and alternating currents and digital services for e-mobility. innogy’s e-mobility platform already connects 135,000 charging points in about 30 countries around the world. innogy eMobility Solutions has its own locations in Germany, the United Kingdom, the USA, and the Philippines. innogy is a wholly owned subsidiary of E.ON.

learn more

click here for SERVICE DIVISION
AUDIT

learn more

HYBRID AUDITS

»In the future, we expect more of the audit and certification processes to take place online. However, there will be increased demand for ‘hybrid audits’ that combine remote and on-site evaluations.«
Frank Barenscheer
[Sales Director Management Systems, DEKRA Certification GmbH]

Digital Learning Worlds

Next Insight

Next Insight

Remote Audit bei
E-Pionier

Geschäftsbericht
2020 - 2021

DIGITAL GESTÜTZTE AUDITS →→→ Als internationaler Technologieanbieter für Ladetechnologie ist innogy im Zukunftsmarkt der Elektromobilität ein bedeutender Spieler. Um die Position weiter auszubauen, setzt die E.ON Tochter auf Qualität und kontinuierliche Verbesserung. Dabei vertraut innogy auch auf DEKRA – und geht mit einem Remote-Audit neue Wege.

AUDIT

ELEKTROMOBILITÄT

REMOTE

Die Elektromobilität ist in den Köpfen der Autofahrer und auf den Straßen angekommen. Entsprechend dynamisch entwickelt sich der Markt rund um Ladestationen und entsprechende IT-Services. Die innogy eMobility Solutions GmbH, die in Deutschland, Europa und Nordamerika aktiv ist, steht dabei vor der Herausforderung, stets absolute Qualität zu liefern und schnell auf neue Anforderungen zu reagieren. „Das Qualitätsmanagement ist für uns von entscheidender Bedeutung“, sagt Jörg Schirmacher, Senior Quality & HSE Manager.

Nachdem das Unternehmen im Dezember 2019 nach der Qualitätsmanagementnorm DIN ISO 9001:2015 zertifiziert worden war, stand ein Jahr später das Überwachungsaudit an. Wegen der Corona-Pandemie und der damit verbundenen Kontaktbeschränkungen war das aber in Form eines Präsenzaudits nicht möglich.

Auch in der Krise müssen Sicherheit und Qualität von Prozessen gewährleistet sein. Die Lösung: Remote-Audits, also digital gestützte Audits aus der Ferne. Damit lässt sich nicht nur das erforderliche „Social Distancing“ realisieren. Sie sind auch nachhaltiger, da Reisen entfallen und die damit verbundenen CO2-Emissionen vermieden werden. Zu den weiteren Vorteilen zählt, dass sich das Know-how von Auditoren ortsunabhängig einsetzen lässt und dass bestimmte Prüfungen präziser und effizienter durchgeführt werden können.

IMPULSE

»Uns ist die internationale Erfahrung der DEKRA Auditoren sehr wichtig. Denn so bestätigt das Remote-Audit nicht nur den Status quo, sondern liefert Impulse, die uns in der Ausrichtung auf unsere Kunden weiterbringen.«
Arjan van der Eijk
[Geschäftsführer innogy eMobility Solutions GmbH]

Nachdem akkreditierungsrechtliche Hürden genommen wurden, hat DEKRA seine Kunden schnell mit den Möglichkeiten und Vorteilen der digitalen Lösung vertraut gemacht und auch sichergestellt, dass die zutreffenden Datenschutzanforderungen erfüllt werden.

Internationale Perspektive

Dass es ein Erfolg wurde, ist mehreren Faktoren geschuldet. Zum einen sind bei innogy alle Prozesse in einem QM-System digital abgebildet. Zum anderen hat das Unternehmen jeden einzelnen Themenblock des Audits akribisch vorbereitet. Dadurch standen erforderliche Dokumente und auch einzelne innogy Experten genau dann im Auditprozess zur Verfügung, wenn es erforderlich war. „Wir haben im Remote-Audit sehr konzentriert gearbeitet“, berichtet Jörg Schirmacher. „Das war anstrengend, aber effizient. Wir haben weniger Zeit und Ressourcen benötigt als in einem Präsenzaudit.“

Und Geschäftsführer Arjan van der Eijk sagt zur Zusammenarbeit mit DEKRA: „Uns ist die internationale Erfahrung der DEKRA Auditoren sehr wichtig. Denn so bestätigt das Remote-Audit nicht nur den Status quo, sondern liefert Impulse, die uns in der Ausrichtung auf unsere Kunden weiterbringen.“

EFFIZIENT

»Wir haben im Remote-Audit sehr konzentriert gearbeitet. Das war anstrengend, aber effizient. Wir haben weniger Zeit und Ressourcen benötigt als in einem Präsenzaudit.«
Jörg Schirmacher
[Senior Quality & HSE Manager, innogy eMobility Solutions GmbH]

Hybride Zukunft

Vermisst hat innogy im Auditprozess den persönlichen Kontakt zum Auditor. Frank Barenscheer, Sales Director Management Systems bei der DEKRA Certification GmbH, geht deshalb davon aus, dass es in der Zeit nach Corona eine Mischform geben wird: „Für die Zukunft erwarten wir eine weitere Digitalisierung von Prüf- und Zertifizierungsprozessen. Dennoch wird es verstärkt so genannte Hybrid-Audits geben, die virtuelle und Vor-Ort-Prüfungen kombinieren.“

innogy eMobility Solutions GmbH:

innogy produziert Ladehardware für Gleich- und Wechselstrom sowie digitale Services für Elektromobilität. Die innogy eMobility Plattform vernetzt schon heute weltweit 135.000 Ladepunkte in rund 30 Ländern. innogy eMobility Solutions hat eigene Standorte in Deutschland, Großbritannien, den USA sowie auf den Philippinen und ist selbst eine hundertprozentige Tochtergesellschaft des E.ON Konzerns.

mehr erfahren

Hier geht es zur SERVICE DIVISION
AUDIT

mehr erfahren

HYBRID-AUDITS

»Für die Zukunft erwarten wir eine weitere Digitalisierung von Prüf- und Zertifizierungs-prozessen. Dennoch wird es verstärkt so genannte Hybrid-Audits geben, die Remote- und Vor-Ort-Prüfungen kombinieren.«
Frank Barenscheer
[Sales Director Management Systems, DEKRA Certification GmbH]

Digitale Lernwelten

Nächster Insight

Nächster Insight